Pecan Porter – Second Go

I originally brewed this recipe back in 2011. It turned out pretty good but there were two things that needed improvement. First, the pecan flavor was too subtle. I kept the pecans the same for this recipe because I am using a “no-sparge” method this time. With pecans in the mash for 3 times as long as last time, I figure this should get more flavor. Secondly, the head retention on the beer was very low. I was told that pecan oil causes this issue and that I should add some flaked barley. The recipe is below.

  • 8# Two row
  • 0.75# Chocolate
  • 0.75# Crystal 80L
  • 0.5# Munich
  • 0.16# Black Patent
  • 0.5# Torrified Wheat
  • 1# Roasted Pecans
  • 0.25# Flaked Barley
  • 0.55 oz Northern Brewer at 60 min
  • 0.45 oz Northern Brewer at 30 min

I was getting gravity 1.041 pre-boil, so I took gallon and a half leftover from mash and boiled it separately. I added this to the main brew pot at flame out. I ended up with gravity 1.049 and pitched Irish ale yeast.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brewing

Leave a comment